Email Phishing Scam: TD Banknorth

I received an email from TD Banknorth (not) today that was an obvious phishing scam. Just in case you happened to receive a similar email today, you can safely delete it.

The telltale signs?

  • Addressed to "TD Banknorth Customers." Doesn’t seem very specific. Even if the bank doesn’t include your name, they’re likely to realize that you’re just one person, not all of their customers.
  • "We Kindly as you to confirm and update your details". Unnecessary capitalization of Kindly, and no period at the end of this sentence.
  • "We offer you a new convenient and safe high-quality level of service to handle you ATM card." I think they meant "your."

We’re all in trouble if phishing scammers ever learn to use good grammar.

But most importantly? They ask you to click through the email to their "site." Any legitimate bank will not include a link to their site and instead ask you to visit them by typing in the bank’s URL. When I looked at the source code, I could see that the link is actually going to http://www.upshotokai.com/modules/Forums/language/north/index.htm which is obviously not a TD Banknorth URL.

Rich Brooks
Helping Keep You Money Safe

Flyte Toolbox - E-Junkie

Leave a Reply