eBay / PayPal Scam: Digimax 130

Paypalforgery
If you received an email about your recent eBay purchase of a Digimax 130, you don’t need to bother clicking the Dispute Transaction link.

This is an all-too-common scam to get you to give up your PayPal login information, so don’t fall for it.

In the version I received, the Payment Details included:

Amount: $47.85 USD

Transaction ID: 2LC956793J776333Y

Subject: Digimax 130

The seller was named as Edward Harrell, eBay user ID: scratchandgnaw2, although if there really is an Edward Harrell of Springtown, Texas, you can be sure he had nothing to do with this.

Rich Brooks
You Watch My Back, I’ll Watch Yours

Bookmark and Share
GET MARKETING ADVICE DAILY!
  • D C

    You will be glad to hear that Cheryl Blake has now moved across the pond to the UK, apparently living in Birmingham but still selling the Digimax 130. Email sent to spoof@paypal.com.

  • D C

    You will be glad to hear that Cheryl Blake has now moved across the pond to the UK, apparently living in Birmingham but still selling the Digimax 130. Email sent to spoof@paypal.com.

  • Greerpam

    Thank you I recieved this exact email and I was about to reply and just opt to google the product. Thanks.

  • Bradtopp

    i got the same one but checked here before opening

  • Tailwind

    Add another, Thanks for the info….

  • Jjhcs1

    yep I’m another…. Almost fell for it too…
    till I checked my Pay Pal history and there was no such transaction ID.
    if it where legit it would have shown up on my transaction History

  • Jbsearch88

    I am another one. thanks

  • Stefan

    Yup, this just appeared in my mailbox. Thanks to Google and this list, I very quickly found the answer!

  • Marvin

    I just got the same email with exactly the same details. Its a scam

  • Maria W Campbell

    Me, too. Same email & details. Please, Everyone… Check your records & don’t click on
    *ANY* links that you are unsure of. These Scammers are everywhere… BEWARE.

  • Scam buster

    I think it might be a scam… to drive traffic to THIS SITE!
    Aha – the plot thickens! Web marketing, eh? Sneaky is what I calls it.

  • http://twitter.com/therichbrooks therichbrooks

    Ah, you found me out! Actually, I was surprised to see the sudden surge of comments to this post from over 3 years ago. I guess some spammer is recycling this. At least they’re being eco-friendly.

  • Guest

    Got this Scam email this morning and have spent all day trying to clear it up with PayPal, without trying the link on the email. It involved $134.76 NZD for Digimax 130 purchased by Edward Harrell. Thought I`d find out what a Digimax 130 was so I`m here. You have to be very Street-Wise these days.

  • Bruce Reid

    Well done. I returned his phish with a request to cancel my Paypal account as I know that he will be unable to do that. I also checked my bank accounts to ensure that no unauthorised transaction had occurred and then I googled his name and your website came up. Very reassuring.
    Cheers

  • Yorgi

    Just got one of these today. If you look at the source code of the email the link takes you to a domain in Morocco.

    http://secure1sesion2paypalcan.gu.ma

  • Kylerblue

    thanks for the heads-up..why don’t some people try to make an honest living like the rest of us schmucks?

Related posts:

  1. PayPal and eBay Email Fraud: The Perils of Phishing
  2. Debbie’s RC World PayPal Scam
  3. Tire Sales: New PayPal Scam
  4. Clever PayPal Phishing Scam
  5. PayPal Phishing Scam: Your Account Has Been Flagged !